May 20, 2023

VERONA, N.Y. - The upcoming 12th annual New York State Men’s Amateur & 11th Senior Amateur Four-Ball Championships are heading to the Kaluhyat and Shenendoah golf courses at the Turning Stone Resort and Casino, May 21 – 22, 2023.

Related: Championship Home / Scoring / Program / 2022 Recap

The championships begin on Sunday with 108 sides (67 in Open Division, 32 in Senior Division, 9 in Super Senior Division) playing 18 holes of four-ball stroke play. Round 1 will begin with a shotgun start at 1:30pm. The second and final round will be another 18 holes of four-ball stroke play on Monday with a shotgun start at 8:30am. 


Dates: May 21 – 22, 2023
Host Site: Turning Stone Resort Casino's Kaluhyat & Shenendoah Golf Courses

2022 Champions:
Carl Schimenti and Andrew Turker of Cornell University GC (Amateur Division) and;

Matt Clarke of Cazenovia CC and Robert Rosen of CC of Buffalo (Senior Division)

Format: 36 holes of four-ball stroke play played over two days of competition.


Open Division:
Kaluhyat GC - Blue Tees // 6,724 yards, Par 72
Shenendoah GC - Black Tees // 7,002 yards, Par 72

Senior Division:
Kaluhyat GC - White Tees // 6,183 yards, Par 72
Shenendoah GC - White Tees // 6,128 yards, Par 72

Super Senior Division:
Kaluhyat GC - Gold Tees // 5,690 yards, Par 72
Shenendoah GC - Gold Tees // 5,596 yards, Par 72


Saturday, May 20 // Practice Rounds
Sunday, May 21 // Round 1, 18 holes, Shotgun start at 1:30pm
Monday, May 22 // Round 2, 18 holes, Shotgun start at 8:30am



Past NYS Amateur & Senior Amateur Four-Ball Champion Teams

(2022) – Carl Schimenti / Andrew Turker, Cornell University GC
(2021) – Michael Dwyer / Michael Stopera, Edison Club
(2018) – Billy Hanes / David Hanes, Crag Burn GC

(2022, 2016) – Matt Clarke, Cazenovia CC / Robert Rosen, CC of Buffalo

(2021) – Mark Battle, Ravenwood GC / Chris Sorci, RDGA eClub
(2019) – Ken Ogden, Oak Hill CC / Wade Sarkis, Canandaigua CC
(2017) – Robert Branham, Canasawacta CC / Kevin Webb, Clifton Springs CC

Past NYS Men’s Four-Ball Champions 

Michael Dwyer (2021), Ryan Gabel (2019), Billy Hanes (2015, 2018), David Hanes (2018), Carl Schimenti (2022), Jim Scorse (2011, 2012), Michael Stopera (2021), Andrew Turker (2022), Jeff Wolniewicz (2016, 2017).

Past NYS Men’s Senior Four-Ball Champions

Mark Battle (2013, 2021), Robert Branham (2017), Kevin Broderick (2014), Matt Clarke (2016, 2022), Ken Ogden (2019), Paul Hart (2014), Robert Rosen (2016, 2022), Wade Sarkis (2019), Chris Sorci (2021), Kevin Webb (2017).

Other New York State Champions

Benjamin Bates (Boys’ Junior Amateur – Shaker Ridge CC, 1997)
Nicholas Braman (Mixed Team – Skaneateles CC, 2018, Teugega CC, 2019)
Robert Branham (Men's Super Senior Am – Springville CC, 2022)
Frank Broderick (Men's Senior Am – Normanside CC, 2013) 
Michael Carrig (Mixed Team – Transit Valley CC, 2022) 
Matt Clarke (Men’s Mid-Am – CC of Rochester, 2005)
John Gaffney (Men's Am – Wanakah CC, 1999)
Jim Hamburger (Men's Super Senior Am – Mohawk GC, 2018)
Billy Hanes (Boys’ Sub-Junior – Wellsville CC, 2000; Men's Mid-Am – Seven Oaks GC, 2022)
Luke Hobika (Men's Mid-Am – Yahnundasis GC, 1998; Wolferts Roost CC, 2015)
Robert Hughes (Men's Senior Am – Mohawk GC, 2018)
Doug Kleeschulte (Men's Am – Albany CC, 2010)
Yaroslav Merkulov (Boys’ Sub-Junior – Drumlins CC (East), 2006; Boys’ Junior Am – Oneonta CC, 2008; Skaneateles CC, 2009; Men’s Am – Ravenwood GC, 2009)
Patrick Pierson (Men's Mid-Am – Teugega CC, 2003)
Ken Riter (Men's Mid-Am – Glens Falls CC, 2009)
Jim Scorse (Men's Am – Ontario GC, 2006; Men's Mid-Am – Onondaga G&CC, 2013; Stafford CC, 2016)
Don Van Gorder (Men's Senior Am – Lafayette CC, 2006)
Kevin Webb (Senior Mixed Team – Skaneateles, 2018; Teugega CC, 2021)
Jeff Wolniewicz (Men’s Am – Pinehaven CC, 2008)
Randy Young (Men's Super Senior Am – Cedar Lake Club, 2014)

Teams Who Have Qualified for USGA Amateur Four-Ball

Shane Dobesh / Yaroslav Merkulov (2021)
Shawn Baker / Jim Scorse (2019)


2015 NYS Men's Amateur at Kaluhyat GC
2017 NYSGA Amateur Series Championship at Kaluhyat GC & Shenendoah GC


Measuring in at just over 7,100 yards, this Robert Trent Jones, Jr. course is ranked as a Top Casino Course by Golfweek. Kaluhyat (the Oneida word for 'the other side of the sky') is marked by dramatic changes in elevation, measuring as high as 50 feet in some areas, with plateau settings offering seemingly endless, spectacular views of the surrounding terrain. Six lakes throughout the course add to the picturesque setting. Kaluhyat is a classic shot-maker’s course, where accuracy and strategy are rewarded as much as length. Kaluhyat Golf Course previously hosted the 2015 NYS Men's Amateur Championship, won by Trevor Sluman of Rochester.


Shenendoah offers 18 holes of PGA-level golf in a spectacular natural setting. The course was built and is maintained to comply with stringent Audubon International standards for environmental protection and preservation. Designer Rick Smith used the natural landscape to create wooded parkland holes, open pastures that capture the links feel, and beautifully simple low country-style holes. Designed, constructed and maintained to TOUR standards at more than 7,000 yards, the course offers conditions normally reserved for TOUR professionals. In 2006, Turning Stone Resort Casino’s Shenendoah was host of the PGA National Club Professional Championship.

Turning Stone Resort & Casino is an official sponsor of the New York State Golf Association.