NYSGA Scholarship Fund Awards Announced for 2020-21

August 20, 2020

JAMESVILLE, N.Y. – The New York State Golf Association Foundation announced today that seven new students will receive NYSGA Scholarship Fund awards for the 2020-21 academic year. 

These college students will join sixteen others who are already fund recipients, totaling twenty-three students who will benefit from NYSGA scholarships this upcoming school year.

Related: Current Recipients / Donate

The new awardees include Jed Janaher of Binghamton University, Michael Griswold of SUNY Oswego, Joshua Marshall of SUNY Canton, Benjamin Petell of St. John Fisher, Ian Rivers of North Kentucky University, Jonathan Sandstrom of John Carroll University and Carleigh Wachtel of SUNY Geneseo.

Wachtel has been awarded the Betty Deeley Scholarship. She is the first recipient of this newly endowed scholarship annually given to a female high school senior from New York, created to honor the late NYSGA hall of famer and committee member.

“This year’s pool of applicants was one of the largest and most talented groups we’ve seen,” said Kara Cushman, NYSGA Foundation Manager. “It was difficult to narrow down the field but we are very excited for our chosen recipients as they further their education.” 

Past recipients who will continue receiving aid in 2021 include Luke Barney of Le Moyne College, Brian Beck of Allegeny College, Ben Branigan of SUNY Geneseo, Brenna Callahan of Gannon University, Sean Dadey of The College of St. Rose, Ryan Davis of Fordham University, Alex Farkas of Niagara University, Ryan Fecco of SUNY Oswego, Zackary Krotz of SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Elyse Maniccia of Le Moyne College, Olivia Minor of Nazareth College, Tyler Paar of St. Bonaventure University, Evan Ryan of Clarkson University, Ben Spitz of California University of Pennsylvania, Pasqualina Tartaglione of University at Albany and Keaton Thiel of University at Buffalo.

“On behalf of the entire NYSGA community I am very pleased to offer congratulations to this year’s scholarship winners.  These awards from the NYSGA Foundation would not be possible without the unselfish support of NYSGA members across the state,” said Joe Enright, NYSGA President. “You may not realize how much your support means to each new class of scholarship recipients, but understand, educational support for these young men and women who represent a vital part of the future of golf and society in general will reap future benefits that today we may not even consider possible.  So, to all NYSGA member-donors, please continue your generosity. And for new, much-needed potential donors, please consider a donation to the NYSGA Scholarship Fund, or to any of the NYSGA Foundations initiatives established to further the game that we all love.”

Those who wish to contribute to the NYSGA Scholarship Fund and make a difference in a student’s life, click here to donate.