NYSGA Accepts Nearly 500 Entries for 97th NYS Men's Amateur

June 28, 2019

JAMESVILLE, N.Y. - The New York State Golf Association (NYSGA) has accepted a total of 491 entries for the 97th New York State Men’s Amateur Championship at Crag Burn Golf Club in East Aurora, N.Y., August 6-8.
Related: Qualifying Homepage / Pairings /  Results
To be eligible, a player must have a Handicap Index not exceeding 8.4, and must be a member of the NYSGA, defined as either (1) belonging to an NYSGA member club or (2) joining the NYSGA as a 2019 NYSGA eClub Member. 
Among this year’s total are 47 players, including 5 past champions, and 12 other New York State titleholders, who are fully exempt into the championship.
Sectional qualifying, played over 18 holes, will be conducted at 13 sites around New York from Friday, June 28 to Tuesday, July 16 at the following venues:
June 28 – Yahnundasis GC (Utica) – 35/6 
June 29 – Chautauqua GC (Jamestown) – 15/3
June 29 – Watertown CC (Watertown) – 14/2
June 30 – Links at Hiawatha (Binghamton) – 19/3
June 30 – Wayne Hills CC (Finger Lakes) – 23/4
July 1 – Colonie G&CC (Albany) – 52/8
July 1 – Glen Oak GC (Buffalo) – 101/16
July 1 – Tuscarora GC (Syracuse) – 26/4
July 2 – Mill Pond GC (Long Island) – 48/7
July 7 – Elmira CC (Elmira) – 9/2
July 14 – Malone GC (N. Country) – 11/2
July 15 – Mendon GC (Rochester) – 46/7
July 16 – Wiltwyck (Hudson Valley) – 47/7

( ##/## denotes the number of players competing for an allocated number qualifying spots at each site.)
No playoffs will be conducted during sectional qualifying. All players tied for the final allocated spot at a given qualifier, will advance into the championship.
There will also be a “Last Chance” qualifier conducted on August 5th at a Buffalo-area club (to be decided). The qualifier will open to players who have not already attempted to qualify at a previous site. A limited number of spots will be allocated to this qualifier and will be announced later.
This will be the first time the championship will be conducted at Crag Burn Golf Club. The club has hosted many other NYSGA championship, including the 1986, 1999 & 2010 NYS Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship. More recently, the club hosted the 2017 NYS Men’s Senior and Super Senior Amateur Championships.
The list of 47 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2019 NYS Men’s Amateur (as of June 28):
Nicklaus Ambrose, Alec Bard, Gray Barnes, Chris Blyth, Kevin Borowicz, Michael Brennan, Prescott Butler, John Casler, Christian Chapman, Adam Condello, Shane Devincenzo, Kyle Downey, Luke Feehan, Dominic Formato, Matt Genaway, Danny Gianniny, Daniel Griffiths, Nathan Han, Billy Hanes, David Hanes, Ryan Hart, Tony Hejna, Luke Hobika, Patrick Keegan, Doug Kleeschulte, Justin Lane, Tim Lane, Tom Linehan, Jamie Miller, Bill Moore, Patrick Nealon, Jonny Petrin, Dylan Plis, Ben Reichert, Ryan Rodriguez, Luke Sample, Timothy Saur, Carl Schimenti, John Schob, Jim Scorse, Jeremy Sisson, Evan Sitts, William Thomson, Kevin Vandenberg, Christopher White, Jeff Wolniewicz, and Alex Zurat.
The number of exempt players into the championship could increase based on the performance of amateurs in other regional championships and tournaments around New York State (see below).
Exemption categories for the championship are as follows:
E1. Winners of the NYS Men's Amateur Championship from the last 10 years.
E2. From the 2018 NYS Men's Amateur Championship, the 20 lowest scorers and anyone tied for 20th place.
E3. Winners of the NYS Men's Mid-Amateur Championship from the last 5 years.
E4. From the 2018 NYS Men's Mid-Men's Amateur Championship, the 5 lowest scorers and anyone tied for 5th place.
E5. Winners of the 2019 NYS Men's Amateur Four-Ball Championships.
E6. Winner and runner-up of the 2019 NYS Boys' Junior Amateur Championship
E7. Winner of the 2018 NYS Men’s Senior Amateur Championship
E8.  Winner and runner-up of the 2019 NYSPHSAA Boys' Golf Championship.
E9. Most recent (as of August 6, 2019) winner or low amateur (*professional events) of the following regional championships:

  • Apogee Investment Management Championship
  • BDGA Buffalo District Individual Championship
  • CCR Invitational
  • CRAGA Capital Region Amateur Championship
  • Delaware County Amateur Championship
  • Dutchess County Amateur Championship
  • LIGA Hebron Individual Championship
  • MGA Ike Championship
  • MGA MET Amateur Championship
  • MGA MET Open*
  • NYC Amateur
  • NYS Open*
  • RDGA Rochester District Individual Championship
  • SDGA Gerry Ashe Memorial
  • TCGA Court Jester Amateur Championship
  • Ulster County Amateur Championship (Herdegan)
  • Watertown City Championship
  • WGA Westchester Individual Championship

E10. From the 2019 Monroe Invitational, the 20 lowest scorers and anyone tied for 20th place.
E11. From the 2019 Porter Cup, the 20 lowest scorers and anyone tied for 20th place.
E12. Players ranked in the top-1500 of the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR).
E13. Host club exemptions
E14. Special exemptions as selected by the NYSGA.