Nine Seniors From NY In Field at 65th U.S. Senior Am

August 23, 2019

DURHAM, N.C. (Updated 8/23) - Guilderland native Bob Royak has advanced to the 2019 U.S. Senior Amateur quarterfinals after winning his first three matches at Old Chatham Golf Club in Durham, N.C.

He advanced into the top 8 after defeating William Mitchell of Roswell, Georgia, 2 and 1, in the Round of 16.

In the Round of 32, he defeated Dean Channell of Cary, North Carolina, 1 up.

Royak tied the record for largest win after taking down Kenneth Coutant of Dallas, Texas, 8 and 7 during the Round of 64.

Ned Zachar feel in the opening round of match play to Jerry Rose of Sarasota, Florida, 2 and 1. This is the second consecutive year Zachar advanced to match play at this championship.


DURHAM, N.C. (Updated 8/21) -- Bob Royak and Ned Zachar advanced through the two stroke play qualifying rounds at the 65th U.S. Senior Amateur Championship

Royak, went 77-72 to finish T30. He will face Kenneth Coutant of Dallas, Texas in the Round of 64.

Zachar shot 77-73 to finish at T36. He's matched up against Jerry Rose of Sarasota Florida in the opening round of match play.

The two-round cut fell at 152 (+8).

Dennis Lynch finished at 153, Jim Durr at 156, Matt Clarke and Paul Royak at 159, Peter Van Ingen at 160, Patrick Pierson at 161, and Ken Ogden totaled 162.


DURHAM, N.C. – Nine players from New York State will compete in the 65th U.S. Senior Amateur Championship at Old Chatham Golf Club this week, August 24-29, in Durham, North Carolina. 

The group includes Matt Clarke of Loudonville, Jim Durr of Hamburg, Dennis Lynch of Smithtown, Ken Ogden of Canandaigua, Peter Van Ingen of New York, and Ned Zachar of Bedford.

In addition, three New York natives including Patrick Pierson of West Orange, NJ, Bob Royak of Alpharetta, GA and brother Paul Royak of Tampa, FL are competing in the championship. Pierson is formerly out of Central Nyack and won the NYS Mid-Amateur in 2003 at Teugega. Royak of Guilderland, won the NYS Boys’ Junior in 1979.

Related: Tee Times / ScoringChampionship Home

The U.S. Senior Amateur has 156 players in the field. Players will compete over 36 holes of stroke play, after which a cut of the low 64 players will be applied. Those who make the cut will advance to the first of six rounds of match play before a champion is declared on Thursday.

The par-72 layout will setup at 7,134 yards and play to a par of 36-36.

Clarke, who won 2005 NYS Men’s Mid-Amateur at CC of Rochester, qualified out of Manchester Country club in Manchester, Vermont. He shot 73 to capture one of three spots into the field.

Durr, qualified at Kirtland Country Club in Willoughby, Ohio and was a co-medalist after shooting 72.

Lynch, the NYS Men’s Senior Amateur runner-up in 2017, qualified at New Jersey National Golf Club in Basking Ridge, New Jersey with a 72. 

Ogden, was first alternate at the Cobblestone Creek Country Club qualifier in Rochester, New York, after losing in a playoff for the lone qualifying spot after sharing medalist honors with Robert Fesuk of Brea, California.

Pierson, qualified at New Jersey National Golf Club in Basking Ridge, N.J. and secured the last qualifying spot in a 3-for-2 playoff, along with Lynch.

Van Ingen, was medalist during the qualifier at H. Smith Richardson Golf Course in Fairfied, Connecticut and shot 71.

Zachar, earned an exemption due to his performance at the 2018 U.S. Senior Amateur, where he was a quarterfinalist. 

Royak, earned an exemption due to his current World Amateur Golf Ranking, as a top 15 age-eligible points leader.

Listed below are the tee times for Round 1 on Saturday and Round 2 on Sunday:




Matt Clarke 

Hole #10 - 7:45am 

Hole #1 - 12:45pm

Jim Durr

Hole #1 - 7:34am 

Hole #10 - 12:45pm

Dennis Lynch

Hole #1 – 12:15pm

Hole #10 – 7:15am

Ken Ogden

Hole #1 – 12:45pm

Hole #10 – 7:45am

Patrick Pierson

Hole #1 – 12:15pm

Hole #10 – 7:15am

Bob Royak

Hole #1 - 8:35am 

Hole #10 - 1:35pm

Paul Royak

Hole #10 - 2:05pm

Hole #1 - 9:05am

Peter Van Ingen

Hole #10 – 8:05am

Hole #1 – 1:05pm

Ned Zachar

Hole #1 – 12:35pm

Hole #10 – 7:35am